DUI Lawyer Salt Lake City, UT

Call this direct line and speak with Rob immediately: (801) 363-8500

If you have been charged with a DUI, you may want to consult a DUI lawyer in Salt Lake City, UT from Rasmussen & Miner. A DUI can carry some heavy consequences, so you want someone knowledgeable and experienced on your side. Here are some frequently asked questions and answers about DUI cases.

What Does Implied Consent Mean?

When you receive your driver’s license in Utah, you automatically consent to submitting a chemical test if you’re pulled over for a suspicion of a DUI. If you refuse to perform the chemical test, your driver’s license will automatically get suspended for 18 months.

Is a DUI a Misdemeanor or Felony in Utah?

Many times, a DUI is considered a misdemeanor Utath. However, there are certain circumstances that can deem a DUI a felony. For example, if you have two prior DUI convictions on your record, your third DUI will be a felony. Likewise, if someone was seriously injured or killed because of the DUI, it is considered a felony.

Will I Automatically Lose My Driver’s License?

Yes. In Utah, your driver’s license will automatically be suspended once you’re arrested for a DUI. The only way to avoid this is to request a hearing with the Driver’s License Division within 10 days of being arrested. During the hearing, a judge will examine the circumstances of your case and decide whether or not to reinstate your license.

Is It Necessary to Hire a DUI Lawyer?

A DUI is a serious charge and can result in jail time, fines and other penalties. Therefore, it’s in your best interest to hire a reputable DUI lawyer in Salt Lake City, UT. He or she can provide you with the best possible defense and improve your chances of getting your charges reduced or dismissed altogether.

What Is an Ignition Interlock Device?

If your BAC was .16 or greater, a judge will require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 18 months. The device requires you to blow into a mouthpiece to determine your BAC. If your BAC is greater than the legal limit, your vehicle won’t start.

Do I Have to Answer a Police Officer’s Questions?

No. When you’re pulled over for suspicion of drunk driving, the police officer may ask you various questions, such as whether or not you’ve been drinking alcohol. You’re under no obligation to answer these questions. Politely tell the officer that you don’t wish to answer questions with a lawyer present.

Schedule a consultation with a DUI lawyer in Salt Lake City, UT today.