Call this direct line and speak with Rob immediately: (801) 363-8500
Motorcycle Accident Lawyer Salt Lake City UT
Frequently Asked Questions About Motorcycle Accidents
Our motorcycle accident lawyer Salt Lake City UT, has represented victims of accidents who have suffered severe injuries due to negligence. Because the motorcycle rider has little to protect them, when faced with an accident, the impact is likely to be catastrophic. Victims of these accidents and their families should take the time to speak with Rasmussen & Miner to ensure that their questions are answered and receive qualified legal representation to protect their interests.
What initial steps should be taken after a motorcycle accident?
The steps following a motorcycle accident are critical to ensuring safety, receiving treatment, and safeguarding a possible claim. However, in some cases, injuries may be so severe that the victim cannot do anything at the scene, thus becoming reliant upon bystanders, emergency services, and law enforcement. There will be immediate and long-term steps that need to be taken. Following the accident, it’s imperative to seek medical care to rule out any underlying medical conditions and ensure treatment is received for any injuries. In addition to this being important for a person’s health and well-being, it’s also essential in proving the injuries were a result of the accident. Once treatment is received, the victim should write down their account of what happened and gather as much evidence as possible. Once the recovery process has started, victims should contact a motorcycle accident lawyer in Salt Lake City UT to receive guidance on moving forward with a legal claim.
Is Utah a no-fault state? What is PIP?
Yes- Utah is a no-fault state meaning that injured drivers must first access their car insurance for damages such as medical expenses and property loss up to the coverage limits. In Utah, this means that drivers must have personal injury protection (PIP) coverage to cover costs. However, this doesn’t mean that an injured driver can’t file a third-party claim against the negligent party. Each state has certain thresholds of losses that must be met before this can happen. In Utah, drivers must have at least $3,000 of no-fault protection. If losses exceed $3,000 and the victim has been severely injured or disabled, it’s possible to pursue damages from the at-fault driver.
If an insurance adjuster has contacted the victim, should they speak to them without a lawyer?
The insurance adjuster will likely contact the victim to discuss the accident. They will have a series of questions for accident victims, and it’s essential to proceed with caution. The last thing any victim wants is their potential settlement to be impacted because they say the wrong thing and inadvertently implicate fault. If a lawyer represents the victim, it’s usually best to refer the insurance adjuster to them.
Is the victim partially at fault if they were not wearing a helmet at the time of the accident?
While it’s recommended that those riding motorcycles wear a helmet, it’s not a legal requirement in Utah. However, it is essential to note that this does not pertain to riders under 21. Any motorcyclist under the age of 21 is legally required to wear a helmet. If the rider was over 21 and not wearing a helmet, they may still be able to pursue damages from the liable driver.
Motorcycle accidents can be catastrophic for both victims and their families, and it’s essential to contact a firm like Rasmussen & Miner. Learn more about the representation our Salt Lake City, UT motorcycle accident lawyer provides by scheduling a consultation as soon as possible.