Call this direct line and speak with Rob immediately: (801) 363-8500
Domestic Violence Lawyer Salt Lake City UT
Regrettably, fights between spouses or those who live in the same residence can get out of hand, resulting in threats and acts of physical violence. In these situations, depending on the circumstances and statements from those at the scene, you could find yourself facing potentially serious penalties under Utah domestic violence laws. Known as wobblers, these can be charged as either a felony or misdemeanor and involve potentially heavy fines and lengthy jail sentences, even if the altercation involved threats, and no physical act of violence ever occurred. If you have been charged with domestic violence, contact a domestic violence lawyer in Salt Lake City UT for legal assistance.
What does Utah consider domestic violence?
The Utah courts advise that domestic violence is that which occurs between married couples and intimate parties who are dating, either currently or previously residing in the same home or have a child together. It can also occur among other family members, related either by blood or marriage. Abuse involves more than just hitting, punching, or otherwise physically attacking your partner. A Salt Lake City UT domestic violence lawyer knows that a person can be charged with domestic violence for the following:
· Hurting someone as the result of your reckless actions
· Sexually assaulting a partner, either by forcing them to have sex or by groping, grabbing, or otherwise touching them in an inappropriate way and against their wishes
· Making threats and causing someone to be reasonably afraid that violence or harm will be done to them or someone else
· Behavior such as stalking, verbal harassment, intimidation, and destroying their personal property
What does it mean if a restraining order is issued against me?
Due to accusations of any of the above types of behaviors, you could end up facing a restraining order, which prevents you from returning to your home or contacting the alleged victim and any children. A restraining order could require you to continue paying certain household bills, along with spousal or child support, adhere to visitation orders, and attend mandatory counseling sessions. If you refuse to comply with the terms of the restraining order, you could face immediate arrest.
What are the potential penalties for domestic violence?
Under Utah law, the potential penalties you could be facing for domestic violence depend on the factors involved in your case. This includes the criminal acts you are alleged to have committed, the victim involved, and any past criminal record you have. These crimes are known as wobblers, meaning they could result in either a misdemeanor or felony domestic charges:
· For a misdemeanor: Up to one year in jail and fines of up to $2,500
· For a felony: Up to five years in prison and fines of up to $5,000
When you are facing these types of charges, it is important to get a strong criminal attorney on your case immediately. Call or contact Rasmussen & Miner to request a consultation to see how a dedicated Salt Lake City UT domestic violence lawyer from our firm can help.