Call this direct line and speak with Rob immediately: (801) 363-8500
DUI Lawyer Salt Lake City UT
The state of Utah takes all instances of DUIs seriously, but it punishes people under the legal drinking age even more severely. This is because, according to statistics compiled by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 25 percent of fatal car crashes involving teens include at least one underage drunk driver. In order to deal with this issue, the state imposes the standard DUI penalties on underage drivers, and it also tacks on extra zero tolerance penalties. These zero-tolerance penalties involve suspensions of driving privileges in circumstances beyond those that would ordinarily qualify as a DUI and may even involve penalties accruing to the parents of the driver as well. If your teen has been charged with drunk driving, call a DUI lawyer in Salt Lake City, UT right away.
What are the standard penalties for a DUI conviction in Utah?
Any driver who is convicted of DUI in Utah faces harsh penalties. For one thing, as a Salt Lake UT DUI lawyer can explain, Utah’s legal limit is .05 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC), unlike all other states which use the .08 percent threshold.
A first offense conviction means a mandatory two days in jail, up to 180 days if circumstances warrant it, a fine of at least $1950, loss of license of 120 days, a mandatory alcohol/DUI screening and assessment and treatment, an Ignition Interlock Device, and probation.
A second offense carries even harsher penalties – a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail, loss of license for two years, higher fines, and a longer probation period.
What are the penalties for a DUI conviction in Utah for an underaged driver?
Underage drivers under the influence of alcohol are still subject to standard DUI penalties, but these penalties differ from the DUI penalties for people over the age of 21 in two important respects.
In addition to the above penalties for an actual DUI charge, underage drinkers can face a host of driving-related penalties under the state’s “Not a Drop” statute. For instance, even if an underage driver registers below a .05, they may still face penalties under zero-tolerance laws. Zero tolerance penalties apply to underage drivers who register more than a .00 BAC without triggering full DUI penalties. These zero-tolerance penalties include a one-year suspension of driving privileges for a first offense. If the driver commits a second or subsequent offense within three years, they face a two-year suspension.
Contact Our Law Firm Today
If your child has been charged with drunk driving, a conviction could have a significant impact on their future – including their education and employment opportunities. This is why you should contact a skilled Salt Lake UT DUI lawyer to make sure your child’s rights are protected. Call Rasmussen & Miner to schedule a free consultation and find out how our firm can help.