Call this direct line and speak with Rob immediately: (801) 363-8500
First Offense DUI lawyer Salt Lake City, UT
A first offense DUI lawyer Salt Lake City, UT relies on from Rasmussen & Miner knows that being under the influence of alcohol or drugs while driving is illegal in Utah. When a person gets behind the wheel of a car with the intention to operate it, they must be capable of operating that vehicle safely and be mindful of keeping other people safe on the road. Depending on whether or not someone was injured while the person was driving under the influence, a first-time offender may be convicted of a class A or B misdemeanor. If you are being accused of driving under the influence and would like to speak with an attorney you can rely on to help you, please give our office a call.
What can happen when I am convicted of a first-time DUI?
Understandably, one of the first things you are probably wondering is what kinds of penalties you may be facing if you are convicted of a DUI. If this is your first time being convicted of a DUI, your DUI lawyer Salt Lake City, UT offers knows that you will want to understand the possible punishments that you will be facing.
- The typical DUI. If this is your first time being convicted of a DUI, the judge may order you to have 48 hours of community service, home confinement, or they may order you to spend 48 hours in jail. You can expect to go to a required alcohol/drug treatment program as well. You may also get your license suspended for a certain period of time.
- Higher than .16% BAC. If you were found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) greater than .16%, the penalties and consequences will be more severe. You can expect to be under probation and may need a home monitoring system.
- Felony. If you injured someone while you were driving under the influence or were otherwise charged with a felony DUI, your punishments will be even more severe. You could be facing 5 years in prison, longer time in jail, huge fines, and mandatory drug and alcohol treatment programs. If the judge in your case is concerned that you may continue to be a hazard on the road, they could suspend your license for up to two years.
Interested in getting representation if you are being charged with a DUI? Call Rasmussen & Miner to speak with our Salt Lake City, Ohio first offense DUI lawyer now.